Nasser's Blog About Stuff

Alienation

There is a room. The room contains objects. The objects can be seen, touched, smelt, heard, but they cannot be experienced. Not because they are not there, not because they do not have their own existence, but because there is nothing to experience them. The senses are present, the objects are present, but the sensor, the experiencing subject is not. Either that or the existent objects have no essence to reveal.

In Being And Nothingness, Sartre says that the essence is not a property sunk into the cavity of the existent, it is the manifested. So what is it? Is it a matter of consciousness? Is the conscious being in this case faulty? It must be a matter of consciousness, the sensors are fine, the objects are without a doubt existent and manifest. Then what else could it be? This absence is a lacking in the consciousness itself. But what is the consciousness? I understand it as a force exerted outwards from the being, consciousness is not a receptacle rather it is aimed at something outside itself (Sartre). Consciousness is an act, taken upon by the existent being in its metaphysical state. Are they in the soul itself? 

Do I have a faulty soul? If so what does that tell me about the soul? Is it multifaceted? Is it independent of physical existence? Or is it a dimensional extension? If it is a duality then what binds me to this body? And on what account should I experience anything existent on the physical level? Rather maybe extensions of each other? All existent but like a light that dims as it travels, Maybe we are lights that dim travelling in nothingness. If so where am I in comparison to others? Am I on a level above them? This would make no sense since I am the entire light, as are they. So it is not a matter of being more existent it is a matter of being aware of myself on different levels of existence but if that were the case and I was more aware then I should 1. Be able to see what is beyond mere physical existence. 2. Be completely aware of the lower levels of my existence. It cannot be that. Then is it that I am less aware? That would fit all criteria except the fact that I understand more than others, yet they do not experience similar dispositions. Then it is not a matter of awareness of the self. It is a matter of awareness of what is external to the self. I suppose I am aware of myself or selves. In all their states, I just do not have authority at all times, awareness does not require authority and the opposite is true. So does acquiring authority require the being becoming aware of the surroundings?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

